Преодолевая границы

Анастасия Коваленко, "Перспективы"

Тим Херитейдж, Рейтер и участники тренинга-интенсива для наставников программы "Перспективы" на экскурсии в редакции Рейтер. Лондон. 2016

Share

Преодолевая границы: в Лондоне прошел тренинг для будущих наставников программы "Перспективы"

С 15 по 21 декабря 2016 в Лондоне впервые прошел тренинг для наставников проекта. Восемь лучших участников прошедших сезонов программы “Перспективы” были приглашены для обучения работе с информацией, основам принятия редакционных решений, разрешению сложных ситуаций, мотивации и эффективному  взаимодействию с репортерами – будущими участниками программы “Перспективы”.

Синтез знаний

Главная задача лондонского интенсива – подготовка младших наставников для помощи участникам будущих сезонов программы “Перспективы”. Планируется, что наставники смогут поддерживать кандидатов на этапах поиска и разработки тем, сбора материала, структурировании медиапроектов. По словам Наби Абдуллаева, главного ментора проекта “Трансграничная журналистика” программы “Перспективы”, тренинг был направлен на развитие редакционного мышления будущих наставников. Мышления, при котором задачи видятся не только как отдельные истории, но и как часть объемного продукта и, одновременно, редакционного процесса, отметил Наби.

Тренинг вели Наби Абдуллаев в прошлом редактор The Moscow Times и Николас Фитиан журналист с многолетним опытом работы в редакции информационного агентства Рейтер. Интенсив для будущих менторов состоял из мини-лекций, мозговых штурмов, неформального общения. “Я использовал свой опыт репортера и редактора, чтобы объяснить участникам как выбор тем для статей зависит от таргетируемой аудитории, как правильно работать с источниками, как структурировать длинные статьи и как принимать редакционные решения в ситуациях, несущих риски для репортеров”, – рассказал Наби Абдуллаев.

По словам Марты Ардашелия, будущего ментора проекта, на тренинге старшие наставники рассказывали как выбрать тему, интересный угол подачи, какие выделить моменты, как работать ментором и какой подход необходим к участникам программы, чтобы достичь “максимального результата и сотрудничества”. Будущий ментор Марта отметила, что знания, которые передали Наби и Ник, помогли понять важные для наставничества вещи: “Для себя я сделала конкретные выводы о том, как можно эффективно работать с коллегами, как сделать для них полезным и нужным мой опыт. Не навязывать, а делиться исходя из потребностей и нужд каждого”.

“Я специализируюсь на политических и экономических событиях в России и Украине, а в Лондоне мы подготавливали драфт материала на основании местных событий. Такое переключение фокуса помогает пересмотреть и теоретические знания, и практические навыки, – отметила Елена Останина, участница тренинга. – В результате, расширяется количество работающих паттернов, которые после можно внедрять в ежедневную деятельность”.

Футбол, Чичваркин, и Гей-бар

В рамках интенсива будущие наставники объединились в группы и пробовали работать над собственными журналистскими проектами. По заданию тренеров, журналисты сами вышли "в поле": побывали в гей-баре, встретились с известным российским бизнесменом и сходили на футбольный матч.

Так, Марта Ардашелия и Алиса Кустикова взяли интервью у российского предпринимателя Евгения Чичваркина, который с 2008-го года живет в Лондоне. “Интервью получилось очень интересным. Я пыталась его структурировать согласно тем принципам, которые мы обсуждали на тренингах. Мы также сделали фото и видео. Для меня неплохим опытом стала подготовка видеоматериала, который я сняла на свой мобильный телефон”, – рассказала Марта. Позже интервью с мультимедийным сопровождением опубликовало интернет-издание “Сова”. Материал получил большой охват, его разместил и сам Чичваркин на своей странице в социальной сети.

Никита Кузьмин, Елена Останина и Максим Курников отправились на домашний матч одного из ведущих клубов из Лондона – “Тоттенхема”, чтобы подготовить “виртуальный” материал, в котором сравнивались футбольные инфраструктуры Великобритании и России.

Третья группа участников – Эмине Зиятдинова и Наташа Беницевич – отправилась в лондонский гей-бар ради выполнения задания. Будущие менторы взяли интервью у женщин нетрадиционной ориентации о жизни гомосексуального сообщества.

Вернувшись с практических заданий ребята пробовали себя в роли наставников друг для друга, применяя полученные навыки, старались направлять обсуждение  собранной фактуры, помогали структурировать материал и подготовить четкий план будущего журналистского материала.

По словам участников, лондонский тренинг — интенсив по специфике менторства, особенностях восприятия различных типов текста и многом другом — дал большой теоретический и практический опыт наставничества крупных и интересных проектов.

“Я сам являюсь журналистом и редактором, медиатренером и координатором проекта журналистских расследований, поэтому прошедший интенсив — отличная возможность для расширения профессионального горизонта, — делится будущий наставник Никита Кузьмин. — Программа “Перспективы” и Thomson Reuters Foundation предоставляют возможность для журналистов из регионов создавать медиапродукты самого высокого уровня. Мне бы хотелось, чтобы и мой опыт в этой сфере был полезен”.

Crossing Borders

Anastasia Kovalenko, "Perspektivy"

Tim Heritagefrom Reuters and participants of advanced training for future mentors of Perspektivy visiting Reuters newsroom in London. December 2016

Share

'Crossing Borders': a training for future mentors of Perspektivy program took place in London

A training for the project mentors took place in London on December 15-21 for the first time. Eight best participants from the Perspektivy program previous seasons were invited to learn the basics of working with information, taking decisions on editing, resolving difficult situations, motivation and effective interaction with reporters, who will be future participants of Perspektivy program.

Synthesis of Knowledge

The main goal of the London intensive course was to train junior mentors so they can help the participants of Perspektivy program future seasons. The idea is that the mentors will be able to support the candidates at the stages of searching and developing the topic, collecting the material, structuring media projects. According to Nabi Abdullaev, the leading mentor of Cross Border Journalism project within Perspektivy program, the training was aimed at developing editor’s mindset in future mentors. Such mindset should allow them to look at the tasks not only as separate stories, but also as a part of larger product and editing process at the same time, emphasized Nabi.

The training was performed by Nabi Abdullaev, ex-editor of the Moscow Times, and Nicholas Phythian, a journalist with many years of work experience at Reuters Information Agency. The intensive training course for future mentors consisted of mini-lectures, brainstorming activities, informal communication. “I used my experience of a reporter and editor to explain the participants how the article topic choice is related to the target audience, how to work with sources in a proper way, how to structure long articles, and how to take editing decisions in situations that bear risks for the reporters”, tells Nabi Abdullaev.  

 According to Marta Ardashelia, the future project mentor, senior mentors of the training course explained the process of choosing the topic, finding an interesting angle of information presentation, highlighting certain details. They also told about the work of a mentor and the right approach to the program participants that would help to achieve “maximum result and cooperation”. Future mentor Martha pointed out that the knowledge that Nabi and Nick passed on, helped her to understand the essentials of mentorship: “I made specific conclusions on how to work with colleagues in a most efficient way and how to make my experience useful for them without imposing, but through sharing according to the needs and requests of every individual.”        

“I specialize on political and economic events in Russia and Ukraine. In contrast, in London we worked on a draft for material based on local events. Such change of focus helps to recap both your theoretical knowledge and practical skills”, says training participant Elena Ostanina. “As a result you increase the number of working patterns that can be introduced into everyday activity later on”.      

Football, Chichvarkin and Gay Bar

As part of the intensive training, future mentors tried to work on their own journalism projects in small groups. Based on the task the journalists worked “in the field” themselves, visited a gay bar, met a famous Russian businessman, and attended a football match.

 Thus, Martha Ardashelia and Alisa Kustikova interviewed Russian entrepreneur Evgeny Chichvarkin, who has been living in London since 2008. “The interview turned out to be very interesting in the end. I tried to structure it according to the principles that we discussed during the training. We also took pictures and made a video. Making a video on my iPhone and preparing the material was quite a good practical experience for me,” says Martha. Later the interview with multimedia material was published in Sova Internet portal. The material was very popular and Chichvarkin himself published it on his social media page.

Nikita Kuzmin, Elena Ostanina and Maxim Kurnikov visited a home match of Tottenham, one of the London leading football clubs, in order to compare football infrastructure in the UK and Russia.

The third group of participants including Emine Ziyatdinova and Natasha Benitsevich went to a London gay bar as a part of their mission. Future mentors interviewed homosexual women about the life of homosexual community there.   

After performing their field activities, the trainees took up the role of each other’s mentors. Using the acquired skills they tried to direct the discussion around the collected facts, helped to structure the text and come up with a clear plan of the future journalistic material. 

 According to future mentors’ feedback, London intensive training course on mentorship, special features of different text types and their perception, and much more, offered a rich theoretical and practical experience in mentoring large interesting projects.

“I’m a journalist and editor myself as well as media mentor and coordinator of journalistic investigation project that is why this intensive course has been a great opportunity to broaden my professional horizons,” says future mentor Nikita Kyz’min. “Prespektivy program together with Thomson Reuters Foundation make it possible for journalists from different regions to create high quality media projects. I would like my experience in this area to be useful as well”.