Осенний сезон 2017 Трансграничной журналистики стал самым масштабным

Наби Абдуллаев, блог главного ментора

Participants of Cross-Border journalism programme discuss projects at the closing seminar, Tbilisi, Georgia, December 2017

Share

Наби Абдуллаев об осеннем сезоне 2017 программы "Трансграничная журналистика" 

Осенний сезон 2017 года стал самым масштабным по объему и разнообразию программы трансграничной журналистики из всех, в которых я участвовал. Восемь участников, представляющих Россию, Беларусь, Литву, Таджикистан и Казахстан, создали пять разных проектов, хотя обычно 10-12 участников сезона создают четыре проекта. В этом сезоне половина участников работали одновременно в проектах.

Кроме того, в этом сезоне участники попробовали себя в новых для программы жанрах и форматах. Вдобавок к текстовым работам с элементами мультимедиа, формат в котором традиционно создают свои работы участники программы трансграничной журналистики, в этот раз один проект был сделан в формате мультипликационного фильма. Рассказывая истории девочек из Средней Азии, лишенных доступа к школьному образованию на родине и отдающимся ему всеми силами, когда их семьи мигрируют в Россию, этот проект исследует наиболее важный элемент общественного развития, расширение прав женщин. Простые истории из реальной жизни для этого проекта были собраны в трогательный визуальный сюжет Еленой Барковской из Санкт-Петербурга, Маргаритой Логиновой из Новосибирска и Наргис Хамбараевой из Таджикистана.

Елена Барковская и Адэля Дубавец из Беларуси проехали на арендованном автомобиле сквозь Куршскую Косу, из российской ее части в литовскую, и создали богато иллюстрированную road story, развлекательную и заставляющую задуматься одновременно.

Дайва Кусинкайте из Литвы написала мощную историю о проблеме самоидентификации, проследив три поколения литовской семьи, чьи предки были депортированы с их родины в Сибирь при Сталине. Спустя десятилетия эти люди с трудностями пытаются ответить на вопрос кто они. А статья Михаила Даниловича из Перми о борьбе региональных чиновников в Уральском регионе против самодельного памятника ссыльным литовцам, созданного местными энтузиастами, добавляет этой истории новое, загробное измерение.

Наргис, Ольга Лихограй из казахского Кустаная и Надежда Кожевникова из Благовещенска создали масштабный проект о том, как власти бизнес и население Таджикистана, Казахстана и России реагируют на китайскую экономическую, культурную и политическую экспансию в эти три пост-советские страны. Спойлер: чем больше доля Китая в суверенном долге страны, тем дружелюбней она к Китаю.

Пятый проект, созданный Ольгой и Михаилом, исследует как разочарование в православной церкви в России и в исламе в Казахстане приводит людей к древним традиционным верованиям, таким как неоязычество и тенгрианство.

Спустя несколько лет после запуска программа трансграничной журналистики остается динамичной, в ней нет недостатка идей и энергии среди участников, а администрирование программы остается на высоком уровне.

Прием заявок на участие в новом сезоне программы трансграничной журналистики проблится с1 февраля  по 4 марта 2018 года.

Следите за обновлениями на сайте программы и на странице фейсбук.

Cross-border journalism program expands scope

Nabi Abdullaev

Participants of Cross-Border journalism programme discuss projects at the closing seminar, Tbilisi, Georgia, December 2017

Share

Chief mentor Nabi Abdullaev summary of the Cross-Border journalism programme Autumn 2017 season 

Fall season of 2017 was the most work-intense and diverse cross-border journalism program under my watch and, perhaps, beyond. Eight participants representing Russia, Belarus, Lithuania, Tajikistan and Kazakhstan produced five different projects, while usually 10-12 participants work on four. This time, half of the project participants worked in two projects simultaneously.

Also, during this session, the participants made forays into new genres and formats which were not explored during previous sessions. In addition to regular texts with some multimedia, the usual format of projects that participants complete in the cross-border journalism program, this time one of the works was an animated cartoon. Telling stories of girls from Central Asia being deprived of access to school education at home and savoring every bit of it as families migrate to Russia, this explores the most critical element of societal development, the empowering of women. The simple, real life stories for this project were collected and transformed into a toughing visual narrative by Elena Barkovskaya from St. Petersburg, Margarita Loginova from Novosibirsk and Nargis Khambarayeva from Tajikistan.

Elena Barkovskaya and Adela Dulbaviec of Belarus embarked on a road trip through the Curonian Split on a rented car, from Russian side up to Lithuanian, producing a visually rich road story, entertaining and thought-provoking in the meantime.

Lithuania's Daiva Kucinkaite wrote a very powerful story on blood and belonging, tracing three generations of a Lithuanian family whose ancestors were deported from their homes to Siberia under Joseph Stalin. Decades later, these people struggle to grasp their identities. An article by Mikhail Danilovich of Perm, in which he tells a story of the fight between regional authorities in the Urals region against a makeshift monument to the deported Lithianians, erected by a local enthusiast, added a new dimension, afterlife dimension to this project.

Nargis, Olga Likhograi of Kostanai and Nadezhda Kozhevnikova of Blagoveshchensk produced a massive project about how authorities, businesses and common population in Tajikistan, Kazakhstan and Russia react to the Chinese economic, cultural and political expansion into these three post-Soviet countries. Spoiler alert: the larger is China's share in the sovereign debt of a country, the friendlier it becomes toward China. (edt. project had the second version published in Tajikistan).

The fifth project, by Olga and Mikhail, looks into how disappointment with the Orthodox Christian Church in Russia and with Islam in Kazakhstan leads individuals and small groups toward ancient traditional creeds predating Christianity and Islam, like Tengrism and neopaganism.

Overall, the program remains robust, there is no shortage of ideas and energy among participants, and the administrative management of the program remains top-notch.

Call for application for a new Cross-Border journalism season will be open from 1st February till 4th March 2018. Please visit Perspektivy web-site and follow the programme on Facebook